Oscar's Wings

In Stock-
£4.99 £5.99


Category: Books Age 8-13 RP Children RDA 8-13 Kids Corner
Brian Chalmers

Oscar's Wings is an adventure about a Northern Saw-whet Owl born in captivity. Oscar longs for the day when he will be free from his enclosure and the cruel aviary owner, 'Miserly Shakes', to live among the birds of Mucklewood forest. The forest birds have planned a mission to this end, code-named: 'Operation Flight. There are many things threatening to thwart their plan however: the bird who came up with the plan in the first place - a Wood Pigeon called Charlotte - goes missing; the Hooded Crows of Dark Moor have concocted their own plan to take over Mucklewood forest for themselves, and Miserly Shakes decides to move the captive birds into a cabin while he renovates the aviary. Added to all this, the forest is visited by a large bird which the birds of Mucklewood forest cannot make up their mind about. Is it friend or foe? Will Oscar and the other eight birds of captivity ever have their dreams of freedom turned into a reality?

A lesson is applied from the Bible with accompanying Bible verses at the end of each chapter.

Illustrated throughout by Bethany McClean. Suitable for children 8-12.

Add a review